The Heart of Compassion

Compassionate God,
your generous presence
is always attuned to hurting ones.
Your listening ear is bent
toward the cries of the wounded
Your heart of love
fills with tears for the suffering.

Turn my inward eye to see
that I am not alone.
I am a part of all of life.
Each one’s joy and sorrow
is my joy and sorrow,
and mine is theirs.
May I draw strength
from this inner communion.
May it daily recommit me
to be a compassionate presence

for all who struggle with life’s pain.

—Joyce Rupp

I took this poem from the Joyce Rupp’s book, Your Sorrow is My Sorrow (1999). In Indonesia, this book have being translated by Pater Suwito,Pr (2004,2006). so, i’m glad i could buy on Toko Obor and having the strength and blessings to share to you guys. It is nice too know that when we sad and feel sorrow, we’re not actually alone like we felt most, knowing that Mary has been there before me.

I have felt comfort and kinship in knowing that Mary has been there before me. In this Mother of Sorrows I have found a woman of compassion and courage whose life experiences give me strength to weather my own tribulations. Rupp’s said.

Personally, i love when i read the story about how Mother Mary share her afraidness because of The Loss of Christ Jesus in the Temple (Luke 2:41-52).

48When his parents saw him, they were astonished. His mother said to him, “Son, why have you treated us like this? Your father and I have been anxiously searching for you.”

49“Why were you searching for me?” he asked. “Didn’t you know I had to be in my Father’s house?” 50But they did not understand what he was saying to them.

51Then he went down to Nazareth with them and was obedient to them. But his mother treasured all these things in her heart. 52And Jesus grew in wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and men.

When i read that story, i just get the insight what would probably my mother’s feel about me. My mother and i  have not been talked closely like we used to be. it’s just sad,  but i thing this is the common problem, for some mom-daughter relationship. When the daughter being grown up, and mom would probably feel alone; or something that i’m not understand, because even i’ve ever said that my mom and i maybe a soulmate, it’s just something that i don’t know because we are different. We just got a different sight for some things now; and for me those are the essential. now We’ve been fight in silence. i’m afraid to ask or explain a lot because mom had been yelled at me when i tried to explain the “it” things to her.  she just don’t want to hear about my explanation yet. despite of that, i love her, and i just want her to know that i love her and don’t have any thought to hurt her again.

The best thing is, in this book, Joyce Rupp illustrate how sad and afraid Mary would be when she faced the hard situation. With those nice illustration, the reader being pulled out to see that we have the same common feel with Mother Mary on faced the sorrows together, so we can get the strength with her ; whatever your graveness is.
i just thought for the first time i read this book in the bookstore, “could it be help us to understand each other?”

Mom, i love you.

22.09.10

